Book Review: Peter Pan Must Die by John Verdon

I’ve read a lot of murder/cop mysteries.  Much as I like them, they are usually what I consider “book candy,” in that they don’t have a lot of depth.  The characters are interesting and it’s fun to try to predict the endings, but for the most part, the books are all about plot.

I felt that this book was just a little more than that.  There are still plenty of plot twists and turns, but I enjoyed the characters in this book.  Dave Gurney is an excellent investigator, but it was nice to see the author point out the faults of someone who is excellent at his job. 

I was a little taken aback at first at all the generic plot twists, such as the wife being on trial for murdering the husband, the possible mob ties, etc. (I was rolling my eyes), but I was pleasantly surprised by the way I was guided through the story.  That made this book worth reading.

At the end of the day, I walked away liking this book just a little more than other books in its genre.  I felt like I learned a bit from reading this book and that even though it was mostly book candy, there was some brain nutrition in there.

I received a free copy of this book from http://www.bloggingforbooks.org. 

This is a re-post of my review on their site.

Leave a Reply

