Book review: The Psychopath Whisperer (nonfiction)

I finished The Psychopath Whisperer by Kent A. Kiehl in two days.  In fact, when I went to post my review, I couldn’t because Blogging for Books said that I had to wait at least 5 days after downloading the ebook.

The book is very well written.  Dr. Kiehl has a nice balance between writing in lay terms so that the average person could understand his research and explaining just enough so as to not insult readers.  It was evident that he has written and published prolifically.

While many of the identifying symptoms of psychopaths aren’t shocking (narcissism, cunning/manipulative, lack of remorse, callousness, lack of empathy, etc.), the author’s explanation how to identify a psychopath using the Hare Psychopaths Checklist was novel to me.  He explained the reasoning behind why he gave certain psychopaths their scores on the checklist.  I especially enjoyed the case studies (e.g. Wilkes-Booth vs. Gautier) and the explanations of his research and findings.  I loved that he included some actual MRIs.

The author’s passion for learning about psychopathy was contagious.  I was motivated enough to look up some of his articles in scientific journals after reading this book.  My friends/family might be sick of hearing me talk about psychopathy.

I received a free e-copy of this book in exchange for my honest review from Blogging for Books

Leave a Reply

