Book Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson

I try not to read much about a book before reading the actual book. That way, I can form my own opinions.  If I find a book interesting, I usually look up information about the book afterwards.  Most of the time, I’m glad that I do things this way because it makes books more interesting.  It helped me with this book.  If you haven’t read this book yet, stop here.  Don’t read any reviews on it.  Just start reading the book.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson is a fictional novel written by John Green and David Levithan.  John Green is the same author who wrote the very popular “The Fault in Our Stars.”  (I read “Will Grayson” before I read or saw any movies based on books by John Green.)  I was impressed.  The book is told in first person narrative.  What I didn’t know (but should have guessed from the title) is that there were two teenage characters named Will Grayson.  At first, I was confused because one of the Wills talked about living with only his mom and the other Will talked about both parents.  I wasn’t sure if it was supposed to be a flashback or if he had some sort of mental disorder (I’ve probably been reading too many books on psychopaths and sociopaths lately) or if he was trying to live in some sort of fantasy world.  One of the Wills is straight and the other is gay.  They meet when the two end up in the same store and are surprised that they both have the same name.  The gay Will was in the closet and was meeting an online friend that he had been corresponding with for the first time.

I won’t give away anymore of the plot, but I’ll talk about some of the things that I liked.  The book had a parallel universe sort of feel to it.  I’m sure everyone has had moments where they think about what their world would be like if they had been born a little different or had made a different decision.  It was interesting to see the two worlds “meet.”  It wasn’t truly a parallel universe because the two boys were different people, but I still found myself thinking about parallel universes often throughout the book.  The book also had a nice message.  It was a bit Saturday-morning-public-service-announcementy, but heck, the world would be a better place if we practiced some of those public service announcements.

This book is geared more towards teens, but if you’re like me, that won’t stop you.

Leave a Reply

