Book Review: Doctor Who: The Blood Cell

Doctor Who: The Blood Cell was an easy, fast read.  The book started out slowly, but got better towards the end.  Honestly, if I weren’t already a Doctor Who fan, I probably wouldn’t have finished it.  The book is told in first person from the point of view of the governor of a prison on an asteroid/ship.

In this book, Doctor Who was a prisoner, trying to convince the governor that he is trying help.  Something on the ship is killing people and it’s up to the Doctor to, not only convince the Governor that he’s innocent of the crimes, but to also save everyone on the ship.  The biggest problem with this book is that none of the characters are sympathetic.  I found myself not particularly caring about what happened to the characters.  I didn’t like them, but I didn’t dislike them enough to see them fail either.  The story was too plot-centered.  Unfortunately, the plot wasn’t good enough to carry the book.  It was overly convoluted and a bit ridiculous, even for a science fiction book.

The use of deus ex machina in the form of Clara was disappointing.

Despite my criticisms of the book, it wasn’t horrible.  It read like fan fiction.  If you come in to it with that frame of mind, you probably won’t be disappointed.  All in all, though, I’d rather watch an episode of the television show.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review from Blogging for Books.

Leave a Reply

