Book Review: Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography

Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography is a cute idea and brought back some fun memories of those Choose Your Own Adventure books.  Unfortunately, I received the ebook version and it doesn’t seem to work properly.

I tried another e-book that was similar to this once.  It didn’t work at all.  The text said to turn to page XX.  Unfortunately, the pages in the text didn’t match up with the e-book version.  I was so excited when I saw that in this e-book, they had hyperlinks.  YES, I thought!  A publisher who gets that ebooks are becoming more popular!  Alas, my excitement was premature.  Many of the links take you to the same page.  For example, at the beginning of the book, when NPH has readers choose between a happy childhood or a miserable childhood, guess what?  The hyperlinks lead to the same page.  Then, when the reader tries to choose between exploring the world of theater, learning magic, or practicing a speech for the Optimist Club, guess what?  Same thing.  No matter what you choose, you end up on the speech page.

At first, I thought that maybe that this was on purpose.  Maybe it’s meant to be ironic – you really don’t get to choose.  However, ALL of the “choices” of hyperlinks in the e-book seem to be lead to only one page.  If it’s on purpose, it’s stupid because it defeats the purpose of the book and the joke is only funny when you do it 1-2 times.  If it’s not on purpose, it’s also stupid because the publishers didn’t check the hyperlinks.

I went through and “cheated” so that I could read more of the autobiography since I wasn’t getting anywhere with picking my own adventure.  The writing was okay – humorous at times, but a bit self-centered (as is the case with most autobiographies).

If you are going to read this book, do NOT get the e-book.  It doesn’t work properly.

Disclaimer: I received a free electronic copy of this book through Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review of this book.

Leave a Reply

