Book review: The Postage Stamp Vegetable Garden

Don’t let the title fool you – even though it’s called “The Postage Stamp Vegetable Garden,” I found this book to be full of useful information for any beginning gardener.  There were many tips for how to maximize vegetable yield in a smaller area (go vertical), but there was a section in the book about how to  make sure you have enough nutrients in the soil and how much of each vegetable to plant (for example, 1 artichoke per person but 12 asparagus plants per person).

I thought I would skim through this book to just read the sections that interested me, but I ended up reading the book from cover to cover.  It was so helpful and interesting!  I loved everything from the sample gardening plot plans to the different variations of plants to the “typical problem” section for each vegetable.  It does everything from teaching how to compost to providing tips for natural pest remedies.  I can’t say enough good things about this book.  Buy it if you are thinking about starting a vegetable garden!

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

