Book review: The Seven Good Years

The Seven Good Years by Etgar Keret is a memoir.  Keret has written several fictional works, including a collection of short stories.  The title of the book refers to years between when the author’s son was born and when his dad died.  It sounds kind of depressing, but this book was hilarious.

I’m usually not very fond of memoirs (with a few exceptions), but I really enjoyed reading this one.  The book is short and filled with funny vignettes about the author’s life.  I think my favorite bit was when he described how he used to write fictional inscriptions for people at book signings.  He would write things like, “Where’s that tenner I lent you?  You said two days and it’s a month already.  I’m still waiting” and “I don’t care what the lab tests show.  For me, you’ll always be my dad.”  Too bad he stopped writing those kinds of inscriptions at his book signings.  I would have loved to have gotten something like that at a book signing.

It should be mentioned that the author is Jewish and lives in Israel.  This is important to know because some of his stories involve being a Jew.  I loved that he laughs at himself.  For example, he confronts his paranoia in his story about his first trip to Germany.

It’s a short book – you could probably finish it in one sitting.  Read it.

Leave a Reply

