Book review: Ordinary Grace

Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger is a religious (Christian) story about growing up, faith, and forgiveness.  It is told in the first person from Frank’s point of view, as a memoir of what happened when he was a child.  The story takes place over one summer in a small town in Minnesota.  In this one summer, three deaths occur, each one affecting young Frank, but the last one changing his life forever.

I found the story a bit predictable (I guessed who was going to die and what was happening to this person) before getting to the end, but it was a nice read.  I liked the narrative and I liked most of the characters. I didn’t care much for the mom, the sister, or the sister’s piano teacher.  I found Frank’s younger brother’s character a little hard to believe.  His personality was a bit too mature.

The forgiveness part felt a little shoved-down-my-throat because it is a recurring theme throughout the book and it especially hits you over and over and over towards the end of the book.

It’s an okay read.  It’s not one that I want to read again, but I don’t feel as though I wasted my time.

Leave a Reply

