book review: All These Perfect Strangers by Aoife Clifford

I can’t believe it took me so long to read All These Perfect Strangers.  I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book.  The book was full of twists and turns, and though I had some guesses about how it would turn out, I was surprised.

This suspense/crime fiction book is told in the first person narrative by girl named Penelope who is looking to escape her life in a small town by going to college.  Throughout the book, Pen is struggling to deal with a traumatic event involving the shooting of a police officer.  She starts keeping a diary at the request of her therapist.  Through this diary, the reader gets glimpses of what happened with the shooting in the small town as well as other bits of Pen’s life.

Some might find the book confusing because it jumps back and forth between Pen’s memories and what is happening to her presently at college.  As long as you remember that the diary entries are in the past, you’ll be fine.  I liked the transitions and I liked the way the story was told.

Mostly, I loved that I was surprised by how the book turned out.  I really appreciated how the book was told in the first person because Pen’s confusion and interpretation of events was evident.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

