book review: The Fallen by Ace Atkins

The Fallen is another book in the Quinn Colson series.  For those new to the series, Quinn Colson is a sheriff in Tibbehah County, Mississippi.  The other main characters in the series include Lillie Virgil, Quinn’s deputy, and Caddy, Quinn’s sister.  You don’t have to read the other books in the series to understand this one, but you develop more of a liking for Quinn if you read the earlier books in the series first.

The main plot centers around Quinn trying to capture some bank robbers who are in and out of banks in roughly 2 minutes with military precision.  I think the author stole the idea of the bank robbers from Point Break, down to the masks that they wear (Donald Trump instead of other ex-presidents).  There is a bit of a side plot with Caddy trying to find two missing girls, and of course, the side plot ends up being related to the main plot.

Even though this book takes place in the South, I kept getting images of Country/Western while reading it.  When I think about the South, I think of scenery invoked by To Kill a Mockingbird.  With this book, I was picturing a saloon-type atmosphere, big hats, and boots.  Here’s where I admit that I don’t know much about the South or Country/Western so I could be totally off.

There is a lot of swearing in the book and the language used is pretty derogatory towards women in general so don’t read it if you’re going to get offended.  I don’t get offended by that kind of stuff, but the swearing did get tedious after a while.  I was just tired of reading some of it.

If you’re a Quinn Colson fan, I’m sure you’ll enjoy the book.  I will admit that it wasn’t my favorite crime/suspense, but I did finish the book.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from First to Read by Penguin.

Leave a Reply

